Ruth Ritchey Moore

  • Core Training in Kingian Nonviolence - January 2022

    Come and join us during January and February for a transformational month exploring Dr. King's philosophy and methodology of nonviolence. This workshop has helped thousands of people in various social justice movements, prisons, schools and other communities understand the depth of the philosophy of nonviolence and conflict reconciliation.

    If you are an organizer working for social change, an activist working to reduce violence in your community, a youth worker/organizer, or just someone who wants to learn how to resolve their personal conflicts better, this workshop is for you! If you have attended a 2-Hour Intro to Kingian Nonviolence at On Earth Peace or come to any of our events, this is a perfect next step to deepen your Kingian practice!

    The training will start on Saturday January 22nd from 11- 3pm EST and it will run for 4 weeks.

    Dates: January 22, January 29, February 5, and February 12

    Times (same time each week): 8am-12pm Pacific / 9am-1pm Mountain / 10am-2pm Central / 11am-3pm Eastern

    Content: 

    • 4 Pillars of Kingian Nonviolence 
    • Social Dynamics of Nonviolence 
    • 6 Principles (the will) how to view and transform conflict
    • 6 Steps (the skill) how to engage with conflict and organize a campaign
    • Definitions of violence 
    • Types and levels of conflict, and how they escalate and de-escalate
    • Dialectical Thinking 

    Facilitation Team: Hassan Clement, Sara Haldeman-Scarr, Katie Shaw Thompson, and Sandra Dávila

    Cost: There is no set fee to attend, this workshop will be offered on a gift basis -- we will explain more during the workshop.

    Click here to find the start time in your time zone!

    This training will be capped at 35 people, and we are making an effort to balance the participant group racially and culturally by prioritizing access for Black, Indigenous, and other people of color, as well as by age. Based on demographic information, the facilitation team will select participants to maximize diversity in the group, and we will notify you to confirm your participation during the week of January 10. 

    TO INDICATE YOUR INTEREST, you must RSVP below AND fill out this Google Form. If you only do one or the other, your registration will not be complete.  

    WHEN
    January 22, 2022 at 11:00am
    46 rsvps rsvp